Can you paint with all the colours of the wind? What a soppy way to start a post… If you haven’t picked up on this already, I’m reciting song lyrics from Disney’s Pocahontas ‘colours of the wind’.

Today I watched both of the films in a row and the story lines seemed a bit ridiculous; I’ve never read the originals so I didn’t know if they were true to the point or not. I know, from reading my original fairy story book, that the little mermaid was nothing like the films made, so I looked up Pocahontas.

It turns out that Pocahontas is actually based upon a true story about a Virginia Indian woman who saved a guy named John Smith. She then got taken hostage to England and when released, met John Rolfe and decided to stay. They got married and had a child soon after, but she died the year later on her way back to her original home. This is pretty much the same base story from the Disney films. So Pocahontas is based on a true story! Isn’t that strange to think…